Andhra extends ban on Maoists


The Andhra Pradesh government has extended the ban on Communist Party of India-Maoist and seven of its frontal organizations for one more year.

The organisations on which the ban has been renewed are:

CPI-Maoist, Radical Students Union, Radical Youth League, Rythu Coolie Sangham, Singareni Karmika Samakhya, Viplava Karmika Samakhya and the All India Radical Students Federation.

The state Cabinet, which met in Hyderabad on Friday, approved the decision.

It may be recalled that the ban on the CPI-Maoist and frontal organisations was re-imposed on August 17, 2005, under the Andhra Pradesh Public Security Act.

By Syed Amin Jafri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *