17 TRS legislators suspended from AP assembly


Telangana Rashtra Samithi members were on Monday suspended from the Andhra Pradesh legislative assembly for disrupting the proceedings for the fourth consecutive day. 

Seventeen TRS members, who were suspended for a day, were evicted from the House by marshals when they refused to leave. However, dissident TRS legislators, who were not participating in the protests, remained in the House as they were spared from suspension.

As soon as the House met at 8.30 am, the Speaker disallowed the adjournment notices given by different parties, including the one by TRS for discussion and adoption of a resolution on a separate Telangana state.

As the TRS members disrupted the proceedings by raising slogans and rushing into the well of the House, Speaker K R Suresh Reddy adjourned the House for half-an-hour. He convened a meeting of floor leaders of all the parties. Most Opposition parties left the decision to the Speaker while Communist Party of India (Marxist) demanded that TRS members be suspended for obstructing the proceedings of the House for four days.

When the House re-assembled, TRS members kept up their unruly behaviour. Finance and Legislative Affairs Minister K Rosaiah moved the motion for suspending the TRS members for a day. The House adopted the motion by a voice vote and the Speaker ordered the suspended members to leave the House immediately. Marshals were called in to evict them when they refused to leave.

By Syed Amin Jafri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *