AP: No trust motion against Congress defeated


The no trust motion tabled by the main opposition Telugu Desam Party against the Congress government in Andhra Pradesh was defeated in the State Legislative Assembly in the early hours of Thursday.

The motion was put to vote by Speaker K R Suresh Reddy around 1.45 am after the House witnessed acrimonious debate over the motion for nearly 39 hours spread over the last three days.

The speaker declared the motion as ‘lost’ after a voice vote. Thereafter, he adjourned the House sine die.

Availing his right to reply, Leader of the Opposition and TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu contended that the Council of Ministers led by Chef Minister Dr Y S Rajasekhar Reddy had no right to continue in power a single minute, as it was steeped in all-round corruption and had failed on all fronts in the last four years.

He appealed to all the political parties to support the no-trust motion tabled by his party against the ‘anti-people’ regime.

Speaking on behalf of the government, Minister for Housing Botsa Satyanarayana appealed to all the members to vote according to their conscience and defeat the motion.

Earlier, the chief minister put up a spirited defence of his government and listed out the achievements over the last four years.

He also rebutted the “wild and baseless” allegations leveled against him, his family members and the government by the TDP.

He exuded confidence that the Congress would get the people’s mandate for yet another term, on the basis of its ‘spectacular’ performance on the development and welfare fronts, in the next assembly elections.

By Syed Amin Jafri in Hyderabad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *